Deptford says no to Tidemill becoming an academy

Letters of Support

» by

Growing opposition to Tidemill academy proposal

The letter below has been signed by councillors, headteachers and academics calling on the school to reject the Academy proposal and stay within the local family of schools.

To the Headteacher and Governors of Tidemill School

We the undersigned urge the governors and head teacher of Tidemill School to reject academy status and stay within the Local Authority family of schools. We understand the pressures on schools to go down this route, but in these difficult times we believe we are stronger together than apart.

We are concerned that schools going it alone as academies will disrupt the hard work of all of us in providing the best possible education for all our children.

Initial signatories at 10th November 2010:

Cllr Alan Hall, as Chair on behalf of Lewisham’s Labour Councillors

Cllr Paul Bell, Telegraph Hill Ward

Cllr Damien Egan, Lewisham Central Ward

Cllr Vicky Foxcroft, Brockley Ward

Cllr Stella Jeffrey, Lewisham Central Ward

Cllr Darren Johnson, Brockley Ward

Cllr Jim Mallory, Lee Green Ward

Cllr Paul Maslin, New Cross Ward

Cllr Joan Millbank, Telegraph Hill Ward

Cllr Samuel Owolabi-Oluyole, Evelyn Ward

Cllr Stephen Padmore, New Cross Ward

Cllr Dan Whittle, Telegraph Hill Ward

David Bainton, Lecturer in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

Mark Hellen, Lecturer in ICT in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

Dr. Charmian Keller, Lecturer in Educational Studies, Goldsmiths, University of London

Clare Kelly, Lecturer in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

Victoria Obied, Lecturer in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

Maggie Pitfield, Lecturer in English in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

Emma Snowden, Lecturer in Science in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

John Wadsworth, Senior Lecturer in Education, Goldsmiths, University of London

Glenys Ingham, Headteacher, Myatt Garden School

Ann Butcher, Headteacher, Childeric Primary School

Sonia McFarlane, Headteacher, St James Hatcham CE School

Brian Smith, Headteacher, Edmund Waller Primary School

Chris Childs, retired Lewisham Headteacher

Irene M. Lomas, retired Lewisham Headteacher

Eleanor Davies, Parent Governor, Lewisham Bridge School

  • Catherine Creed
    2:26 pm on December 1st, 2010 1

    Governor Myatt Garden Primary School.

    I am opposed to any Primary School becoming an Academy.

  • Mark Adams
    6:58 pm on April 29th, 2011 2

    Becoming an Academy will remove any parental rights. Google Furness Academy and Thetford Academy. The consultations will promise you everything but the Governors have no obligation to listen to even elected politicians. Beware!!!

You must be logged in to post a comment.